Pages Navigation Menu

India news, headlines, breaking, events , stories and all that is trending today

Haryana dethrone Kerala, bag overall championship

Hyderabad: It’s the dawn of a new champion. Haryana with 166.5 points took over the reins from defending champions Kerala to emerge overall champions at the National Youth Athletic championship which concluded at the GMC Balayogi Stadium in Gachibowli, here on Sunday evening.

Kerala, who were at the helm of the national youth meets for the past five years, could manage only 134.75 points pushing them to the second spot. However the girls’ team retained the team trophy with 100 points while Haryana topped the boys’ team championship table with 108.5 points.

As many as seven athletes qualified for the World meet on final day taking the total tally to 20 for the World Youth Athletics Championships.

Rohit Yadav of Haryana stole the limelight as he improved his personal best in boys’ javelin throw with an excellent 76.11m throw. The Haryana lad created a meet record and improved his own current meet record.

Rohit’s Uttar Pradesh teammate Avinash Yadav, who grabbed the second spot with his 71.59m throw, also qualified for the world youth meet.

Meanwhile, Kerala pole vaulter Nivya Antony equalled her national youth record of 3.32m to grab the gold. The Kannur girl, who trains under coach Satish Kumar at the Pala Gems Academy, equalled the recorded set by her in the junior nationals in Coimbatore last November.

“I earlier thought that 3.31m was my record and I was aiming for 3.32 but It is wonderful to grab the gold,” said a happy Nivya.

“I just finished my 10th standard exams and had to rush for this tournament. If I had got ample time maybe the result would have been better,” the Kerala girl concluded.

Results (All Final):

Boys: 200m: 1.Akshay Nain (Delhi) 22.00s, 2.Dibyendu Acharjee (AFI), 3.Ashish Lathwal (Haryana); 800m: 1.Abhishek Mathew (Kerala) 1:55.85s, 2.Harpreet Shira (Haryana), 3.Jitendra Yadav (Uttar Pradesh); 2000m steeplechase: 1.Noor Hasan (Uttar Pradesh) 6:06.32s, 2.Vicky Goswami (Haryana), 3.Manish Sharma (Chhattisgarh); 400m hurdles: 1.S Maheshwaran (Tamil Nadu) 54.58s, 2.Vishal Malik (Uttar Pradesh), 3.Prasanjit Xaxa (Odisha); Triple Jump: 1.C Praveen (Tamil Nadu) 15.00m, 2. A. Ajith (Kerala), 3.Akash M Varghese (Kerala); Javelin throw: 1.Rohit Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 76.11m, 2.Avinash Yadav (Uttar Pradesh), 3.Vikas Yadav (Andhra Pradesh); Decathlon: 1.Mohit (Haryana) 6116 points, 2. Sourav Rathi (Maharashtra), 3. K P Arjun (Kerala); Medley Relay: 1.Haryana 1:57.86s, 2.Kerala, 3.Tamil Nadu;
Girls: 200m: 1.Rajashree Prasad (West Bengal) 25.22s, 2.Hima Das (Assam), 3.A T Daneshwari (Karnataka); 800m: 1.Ankita Chahal (Delhi) 2:12.53s, 2.Shraddha Kathiriya (Gujarat), 3.Pooja (Haryana); 2000m steeplechase: 1.Kajal Sharma (Uttar Pradesh) 7:33.90s, 2.Sonali Pawar (Maharashtra), 3.G Gayathri (Kerala); 400m hurdles: 1.J Vishnupriya (Kerala) 1:06.46s, 2.Delna Philip (Kerala), 3.Vaishnavi Yadav (Maharashtra); Pole Vault: 1.A Nivya Antony (Kerala) 3.32m, 2.Reshma Patel (Uttar Pradesh), 3.Malavika Ramesh (Kerala); Triple Jump: 1.Lizbeth Karoline Joseph (Kerala) 12.22m, 2.Sandra Babu (Kerala), 3.Deepanshi Singh (Uttar Pradesh); Discus Throw: 1.M Karuniya (Tamil Nadu) 41.17m, 2.Mahashree Baloda (Delhi), 3.Pooja (Haryana); Heptathlon: 1.Geeta (Haryana) 3643 points, 2.Uajala Kumari Singh (West Bengal), 3.A Janani (Tamil Nadu); Medley Relay: 1.Kerala 2:17.45s, 2.Delhi, 3.Karnataka;

Overall championship: 1.Haryana 166.5 points, 2.Kerala 134.75 points;

Team Championships:
Boys: 1.Haryana 108.5 points, 2.Uttar Pradesh 73.5 points
Girls: 1.Kerala 100 points, 2.Haryana 58 points
Best Athletes: Boys: Damneet Singh (Punjab, Javelin throw) 1082 pts; Girls: Aparna Roy (Kerala, 100m hurdles) 981 points.

The post Haryana dethrone Kerala, bag overall championship appeared first on Telangana Today.

This post was syndicated from Telangana Today. Click here to read the full text on the original website.


Be the First to Comment!

Notify of